CareerBuilder Challenge Golf Tournament Betting at PGA West Golf Club in La Quinta

CareerBuilder Challenge 2019 Betting Bonus Promo Code

Jan. 18-21, 2019
PGA West Stadium Course
Palm Desert,
La Quinta, Calif.
Purse: $5.6 million
Winning Share: $1,008,000
FedExCup Points: 500
Defending Champion: Jon Rahm

The CareerBuilder Challenge, formely Humana Challenge/Bob Classic, is a four-round, 72-hole event that takes place Jan. 18-21 at PGA WEST's Palmer Private Course and Nicklaus Private Course and La Quinta Country Club.

Bob Hope Classic ended in 2011 after 54 straight years of consecutive tournaments. Major changes were made to the PGA event formerly known as the Bob Hope Classic held at Palm Springs every January, which later was called Humana Challenge and recently CareerBuilder Challenge. Remaining as the annual event in the Coachella Valley in California, the PGA's Humana Challenge draws all of golf's biggest names to the golf tournament of the year.

This PGA Tour Event had been held on several courses through La Quinta for three years without a sponsor after Chrysler pulled out in 2008.

First established in 1960, the Bob Hope Classic is one of the better-established golf tournaments in the country. Originally known as the Palm Springs Golf Classic, it's ancestry traces back to the popular Thunderbird Invitational golf tournament, which was held in Palm Springs, California, from 1954 up until 1959. The Bob Hope Classic is a PGA competition that pits the best golfers on the tour against each other.

In 2010, major changes in sponsorship for the Bob Hope Classic were made. The Bob Hope Classic announced Franklin American Mortgage Company is this year's platinum sponsor. They filled in after troubled automaker Chrysler dropped out as a title sponsor in 2009. Chrysler has been a title sponsor since the early 1980s and a sponsor since the 1960s.

The CareerBuilder Challenge (Bob Hope Classic) is one of the rare five-round events on tour, and it is a celebrity pro-am. Celebs and amateurs play the first four rounds, pros only in the final round. Bob Hope's name was added to the tournament in 1965, and continued to be part of the tournament name even after Hope's death in 2003. Arnold Palmer serves as tournament host. Chrysler was the sponsor for many years, but withdrew prior to the 2009 event.

The Hope is played on four courses, with pros and their celeb/amateur partners rotating between the four over the first four days, then the pros only finishing on the designated host course for the final round. Currently, the four courses are:

* PGA West (Palmer Private course), La Quinta, Calif.
* PGA West (Nicklaus Private course), La Quinta, Calif.
* La Quinta Country Club, La Quinta, Calif.
* Silver Rock Resort, Palm Springs, Calif.

2018 CareerBuilder Challenge winner: Jon Rahm

2017 CareerBuilder Challenge winner: Hudson Swafford

2016 CareerBuilder Challenge winner: Jason Dufner

2015 Humana Challenge winner: Bill Haas

2014 Bob Hope Classic Winner

Patrick Reed ran in an 18-footer for birdie on the par-3 15th to push his advantage to three strokes and parred the final three holes. He completed the wire-to-wire victory at 28-under 260.

2013 Bob Hope Classic Winner

Brian Gay wins the 2013 Humana Challenge at PGA West (Palmer Course), La Quinta, Calif. Gay got this PGA victory beating Charles Howell III and David Lingmerth in a three person playoff after ending the tournament tied at 25-under par.

2012 Bob Hope Classic Winner

Mark Wilson won the 2012 Humana Challenge on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2012. Wilson defeated Johnson Wagner, John Mallinger and Robert Garrigus by two shots to get this victory. Wilson played well throughout the tournament, with all of his rounds in the 60s. But at his second round he shot an incredible 62. He finished with a 69 and was able to hold off the group who finished tied for second.

2011 Bob Hope Classic Winner

Jhonattan Vegas won the 2011 Bob Hope Classic with a par putt on the second hole of a playoff. The 26-year-old PGA Tour rookie shot a final-round 69, on the par-5 final hole in regulation. But a par by Bill Haas on the first playoff hole and a missed par putt by Gary Woodland on the second gave Vegas his first tour victory in five starts. It didn’t come easily: Vegas dumped his tee shot into the water hazard left of the fairway on the par-4 10th (the second playoff hole), but Woodland nipped a greenside bunker shot well past the hole and missed the long attempt for par. Vegas finished at minus 27 for the 90-hole tournament.

2010 Bob Hope Classic Winner

Bill Haas followed his father Jay on to the Bob Hope Classic honour roll as he claimed his first PGA Tour title at the 90th hole in California. Jay Haas, who won the 1988 Bob Hope Classic, the tour's only annual five-round event, was back in Palm Springs at the PGA West's Palmer course to see his 27-year-old son two-putt from 27 feet for a final-round 64 to reach 30 under par and win by a stroke from Tim Clark, Matt Kuchar and Bubba Watson.

US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.

Hottest Lines