Bet Canadian Open odds at Glen Abbey GC Field Lines

RBC Canadian Open 2018 Betting Promo Code

Glen Abbey GC Field Lines

July 20-23, 2018

Glen Abbey GC

Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Purse: $6 million

Winning Share: $1,062,000

FedExCup Points: 500

Founded in 1904

Def Champ: Jhonattan Vegas

Golf's second major of the season is arguably its most demanding. Like the other three majors, the Canadian Open is played over four rounds between Thursday and Sunday. An interesting fact about the date that the Canadian Open is played is that it is always scheduled so that the final day of play on the Sunday coincides with the date of Fathers Day in America, which is always around the middle of June.

Today, the RBC Canadian Open remains one of the premier events on the PGA Tour. It is the second oldest stop on the PGA Tour and the third oldest national championship in the world. With its older cousins, the British and U.S. Opens, it constitutes the Triple Crown of national golf championships. Its rich history gives it a cachet and tradition that makes it much more than a regular golf championship.

The Canadian Open is a famous golf tournament sponsored by the Bell Canada (the Bell Canada Enterprises, a major Canadian telecommunications company). The championship was founded in 1904 and, probably, therefore, it remains one of the favorite competitions among golf fans. It is considered the third most prestigious golf tournament after the Open Championship and the U.S. Open. The Canadian Open is also the most accessible tournament for American golfers among the non-US national opens. Because of its long history, the event has a special status.

The Canadian Open was typically held annually in the middle of September after other major golf events. This fact explains the increasing lack of star golfers participating in the tournament. In order to change this situation, the Royal Canadian Golf Association decided to move the event to an earlier date in summer. According to the recent schedule changes, the 2007 Canadian Open will be held in July between the events of higher importance for world golf players, like the British Open (a week before), a World Golf Championship (a week after), and a PGA Championship (two weeks later). Some critics doubt that the strength of the field will not increase significantly after the date shift, as golf players are not eager to play four consecutive weeks.

Canadian Open Hosts

Glen Abbey Golf Course has hosted the most Canadian Opens, with 25 to date. Glen Abbey was designed in 1976 by Jack Nicklaus for the Royal Canadian Golf Association, to serve as the permanent home for the championship from 1977, with occasional visits to other clubs. From the mid-1990s, the RCGA decided to move the championship around the country. Royal Montreal Golf Club, home of the first Open in 1904, ranks second with nine times hosted. Mississaugua Golf & Country Club has hosted six Opens, Toronto Golf Club has hosted five Opens, and four clubs have each hosted four Opens: Lambton Golf Club, Glen Abbey GC, Hamilton Golf and Country Club, and Scarboro Golf Club.

The championship has for the most part been held in Ontario and Quebec, the two most populous Canadian provinces. Ontario and Quebec have seen all but eight Opens. New Brunswick had the Open in 1939, Manitoba in 1952 and 1961, Alberta in 1958, and British Columbia in 1948, 1954, 1966, and 2005.

Canadian Open Winners

Celebrated golfers who have won the tournament include: Walter Hagen, Tommy Armour, Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Bobby Locke, Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino, Greg Norman and Tiger Woods. The Canadian Open is regarded as the most prestigious tournament never won by the great Jack Nicklaus, a 7-time runner-up. Leo Diegel has the most titles with four.

2017 RBC Canadian Open Winner: Jhonattan Vegas

2016 RBC Canadian Open Winner: Jhonattan Vegas

2015 RBC Canadian Open Winner: Jason Day

2014 RBC Canadian Open Winner: Tim Clark

2013 RBC Canadian Open Winner

Brandt Snedeker won 2013 Canadian Open, he missed a short birdie putt on No. 11 and pushed his tee shot into the woods on the par-three 12th, where he and Vail gingerly removed a rather large log that was inconveniently sitting atop his ball, and where he made bogey that brought him to minus-15 and narrowed his lead to one shot over Johnson.

2012 RBC Canadian Open Winner

Scott Piercy fired a 3-under 67, two-putt par from 50 feet below the hole to win the 2012 RBC Canadian Open at Hamilton Golf & Country Club Toronto. Four straight birdies put Piercy into the mix for victory.

2011 Canadian Open Winner

Sean O’Hair won 2011 RBC Canadian Open. With 2 holes to be played 3 golfer’s were at -4. After 18 had been played Kris Blanks and O’Hair went into a sudden death playoff for the championship. In their playoff round they teed off on the 18th hole and both made critical errors that landed Blank in the right side bunker after his second shot and O’hair was 50 feet short of the pin in front of the green for his third. O’Hair made his fifth shot to put it the hole. Blank missed his fifth and Sean O’Hair wins.

2010 Canadian Open Winner

Canadian Open champion Sweden's Carl Pettersson hoists the trophy following the final round at the at Hamilton Golf and Country Club in Toronto, Sunday, July 25, 2010, with a 14-under score. Pettersson's round was remarkable. After opening with a par, he bogeyed the par-4 second followed by two straight pars. After that it was all crooked numbers as his card shows seven birdies and two eagles, the latter coming on the par-5 ninth and 11th holes.

2009 Canadian Open Winner

Nathan Green looked up and flashed a smile when the latest round of heavy rain hit the Canadian Open.

But instead of wiping out play again and possibly forcing yet another day at drenched Glen Abbey, the pounding drops were nothing more than a fitting finishing touch on his breakthrough playoff victory over Retief Goosen.

US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.

Hottest Lines