Oakland Hills Country Club Golf Betting

posted in: Events | 0


Oakland Hills Country Club Golf BettingFounded in 1916, Oakland Hills Country Club has, and will continue to play a significant role in the history of golf in the United States. Walter Hagen, five time PGA Champion, was the club’s first head professional. The South Course has played host to 16 Major Championships including: the 35th Ryder Cup in 2004; three PGA Championships including the 90th PGA Championship in 2008; six U.S. Opens; two U.S. Senior Opens; U.S. Women’s Amateur; U.S. Men’s Amateur; Western Open; and the Carling World Open. Some of the greatest players ever to play the game including Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, and Ben Hogan have competed and won on the famed South Course, also known as “The Monster”. The membership is proud of the heritage of their club and consider themselves stewards of a national golf treasure.

The legendary course has hosted many prestigious professional golf tournaments throughout its 90 year history.

Oakland Hills is made up of two superb courses – North and South Course. The two courses are connected by the world’s largest arched aluminum pedestrian bridge. The bridge is 210 feet long, 11 feet wide, and weighs 40,000 pounds. The South Course has hosted all the tournaments played at Oakland Hills (one round of the 2002 U.S. Amateur was played on the North Course).

Designed by Donald Ross, the South Course opened in 1918 and is sometimes called “The Monster” and is rated among the top ten courses in the USA.

Oakland Hills has hosted a number of prestigious major golf tournaments over the years, most notably they include:

5 U.S. Opens
2 PGA Championships
The Ryder Cup

The scheduled 2008 US PGA Championship is set to be an exciting one with all the renovation work carried out over the past few years. The club has spent millions of dollars to ensure that Oakland Hills lives up to its world renowned reputation as one of the best courses in the United States.