Bet Valspar Championship Betting Odds at Innisbrook Golf Club Field Lines

posted in: Events | 0




Transitions ChampionshipMarch 8-11, 2018
Innisbrook Golf Club, Copperhead
Palm Harbor, Fla.
Established: 2000
Prize fund: $6,300,000
Format: Stroke play
Length: 7,340 yards
Par: 71
Current Champion: Adam HadwinThe Valspar Championship formely Tampa Bay Championship and Transitions Championship, is operated by a not-for-profit organization, Copperhead Charities, Inc., a volunteer group of Tampa Bay area community leaders known as the Copperheads. The members have the dual ambition of raising money for charity and providing golf fans with the best in PGA TOUR competition.Copperhead presents a stern test of golf odds at this years Tampa Bay Championship on March 9 – 12, 2018. One of the newer events on the PGA Tour, the 2018 Transitions Championship will take place on the Copperhead Course at the Innisbrook Resort and Golf Club in Palm Harbor, FL this March.

This PGA Tour event was founded in 2000 as the Tampa Bay Classic, and was known as the Chrysler Championship from 2003 to 2006. Now, it’s made the transition to its current name and is garnering a reputation as a great event on a yearly basis.

John Huston won the inaugural event at this venue known then as The Chrysler Championship in 2000. The tournament was cancelled in 2001 due to the events of Sept. 11th. K.J. Choi won it in 2002 and Retief Goosen in 2003 with Vijay Singh in 2004, Carl Pettersson in ’05’.

K.J. Choi won the tournament in ’06’ and Mark Calcavechia won in 2007.

Most of the 2011 field is expected to return, including Steve Stricker, Jim Furyk and Kenny Perry (all ranked in the top 13 players in the world in the latest Official World Golf Rankings) as well as recent past champions Retief Goosen (2009) and Sean O’Hair (2008).

The players with the most Transitions Championship victories are Retief Goosen in 2003 and 2009, and K.J. Choi in 2002 and 2006, and the tournament record was set by Vijay Singh in 2004 by winning with an 18-under-par total of 266.

The 18-hole “Copperhead” course at the Copperhead Golf Club facility in Lehigh Acres, Florida features 6,680 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. The course offers tightly cut fairways bordered by towering whispering pines, demanding accuracy as well as distance.

The course rating is 70.9 and it has a slope rating of 129 on Bermuda grass. The course opens with a par-5 (560 yards from the back tees and 450 from the forward) that is a sweeping dogleg right with a tee box perched some 50 feet above the fairway. The placement of the second shot must be accurate to set up a birdie chance here. Designed by Gordon G. Lewis, the Copperhead golf course opened in 2001.


DateWinnerCountryScore1st Prize ($)Purse ($)
Valspar Championship
Mar 12, 2017Adam HadwinCanada2701,134,0006,300,000
Mar 13, 2016Charl SchwartzelSouth Africa277 (−7)1,098,0006,100,000
Mar 15, 2015Jordan SpiethUnited States274 (−10)1,062,0005,900,000
Mar 16, 2014John SendenAustralia277 (−7)1,026,0005,700,000
Transitions Championship
Mar 17, 2013Kevin StreelmanEngland274 (−10)990,0005,500,000
Mar 18, 2012Luke DonaldEngland271 (−13)990,0005,500,000
Mar 20, 2011Gary WoodlandUnited States269 (-15)990,0005,500,000
Mar 22, 2010Jim FurykUnited States271972,0005,400,000
Mar 22, 2009Retief GoosenSouth Africa276 (-8)972,0005,400,000
PODS Championship
Mar 9, 2008Sean O’HairUnited States280 (-4)954,0005,300,000
Chrysler Championship
Oct 29, 2006K. J. ChoiSouth Korea271 (-13)954,0005,300,000
Oct 30, 2005Carl PetterssonSweden275 (-9)954,0005,300,000
Oct 31, 2004Vijay SinghFiji266 (-18)900,0005,000,000
Nov 2, 2003Retief GoosenSouth Africa272 (-12)864,0004,800,000
Tampa Bay Classic presented by Buick
Sep 22, 2002K. J. ChoiSouth Korea267 (-17)468,0002,600,000
Tampa Bay Classic
Sep 16, 2001Cancelled due to the terrorist attacks on September 11
Oct 22, 2000John HustonUnited States271 (-13)432,0002,400,000